Video Games

Middle-Earth: Shadow of War Releases Worldwide

Ever wonder what it’s like to be an undead overpowered mind-controlling assassin from the Lord of the Rings trilogy? If you have, then you’ve probably played Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor, a game published by Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment and developed by Monolith Productions. Taking place between the events of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit and The Lord of The Rings, Shadow of Mordor begins its narrative by putting the player in the shoes of a Gondor Ranger named Talion, a man under attack by the dark forces of Sauron. Within the first ten minutes, Talion witnesses the death of his family, gets killed himself, and meets a powerful Wraith named Celebrimbor. After an exchange of dialogue pertaining to Talion’s fate, Celebrimbor merges with the Ranger and resurrects them both into the world of the living; two souls in one body, both hungry for vengeance.

The story of Talion and Celebrimbor is now set to continue, now three years later, with Middle-earth: Shadow of War. Releasing today, Shadow of War borrows a lot from its predecessor and stays true to being an open world action-RPG with some strategic and stealth mechanics added for player versatility. From being able to possess orc generals and create your own army, to butchering hordes of oncoming enemies with just a sword, Shadow of War is building upon its already established formula and adding a few tweaks of its own.

Shadow of War will include a new multiplayer mode called Social Conquest, in which two competing players try to infiltrate and conquer their opponent’s fortress. While loot based micro-transactions are increasingly becoming par for the course with big name titles, Monolith has publicly stated that players won’t lose their resources as a result of participating in the online portion of the game.

Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor is currently available for PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC. The game retails for $59.99 USD, $79.99 USD for the Silver Edition and $99.99 USD for the Gold Edition. The silver edition will include two additional expansions and a silver chest while the gold edition will include four additional expansions and a golden chest.

Image Source: Monolith Productions



The Latest

To Top