Release Dates Announced For Translated Monogatari Novels

It’s a good time to be a fan of NISIOISIN’s Monogatari franchise. During this year’s San Diego Comic Con, Vertical, a publisher of translated Japanese fiction and manga, announced release dates for four more translations of the series’ novels. For those unfamiliar with the prolific franchise, it is a series of twenty eight novels following the mysteries and adventures of Araragi Koyomi, a third year high school student who finds himself mixed up in the affairs of ghosts, gods, and spirits in current-day Japan.

In 2009, Shaft began to animate the franchise with the first novel, Bakemonogatari, and has subsequently released seven more seasons of varying lengths as well as a three part theatrical release of Kizumonogatari, the series’ chronological beginning. This 2017 summer anime season will add another season to the franchise with the finale of the Owarimonogatari novels being animated. It will premier under the title of Owarimonogatari 2nd Season and air between August 12 -13 as a two day special.

Starting in December 2015, Vertical began to publish the Monogatari novels chronologically with Kizumonogatari: Wound Tale and has continued on in that fashion. Fans of the franchise know this is not the original order of publication — NISIOISIN has gone forward and backward along the franchise’s timeline to fill out the narrative. To continue on in Vertical’s chronological release schedule, they have announced that Nisemonogatari, Part 2: Fake Tale will release on August 29, 2017,  Nekomonogatari Black will be released in November 2017, Nekomonogatari White in January 2018, and Kabukimonogatari  in April 2018.


Image Sources: VOFAN / Deb Aoki

The Latest

To Top